Our comprehensive collection of electronic resources will help you with your project, hobby, assignment, auto questions, purchase decisions, and travel plans. Our resources aren’t limited to school projects, we have databases that will help with car repairs, ancestry search, language learning, and tracking down up-to-date prices of collectibles and antiques. Access our databases below by title, or click here to browse our resources by subject. If you are using these databases outside of the library, you will need your library card number and online password to gain access. More information about passwords can be found by clicking here.
If you want to search across multiple databases at the same time, use this link to access the Gale Power Search.
Search the databases listed below alphabetically by title:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | TU | V | W-Z
Databases which are available only at the library.
Databases available for Plymouth residents only.
A
Academic OneFile | log in from home - Full-text, peer-reviewed articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology,literature and more. Updated daily.
AccessScience [Plymouth Patrons only] – log-in from home - Based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a current source of information on the most significant scientific findings and breakthroughs. More than 9,000 articles and research updates. More than 16,000 vivid color images and compelling videos. Intriguing biographies of nearly 3,000 well-known scientists, plus 110,000+ definitions drawn from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
American Ancestors – New England Historic Genealogical Society [in-library only] Get online access to more than 200,000 records for New England, New York and beyond.
American History [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - From the explorers of the Americas to today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation’s evolution.
American’s Historical Newspapers including Early American Newspapers Series 1 – 3, 1690-1922 [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America’s Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online available. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
Ancestry.com [in-library only] – premier family history website including census, military,immigration and other genealogical resources
Ancient History [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - Covers human history in all corners of the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginning of the Renaissance.
Antique Reference p4 A [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - Information in this database is drawn from about 50 leading regional auction houses located throughout the United States, plus other selected specialist auctions.
AtoZ Maps | log in from home - Database of propietary, royalty-free world, country, and state maps. Included in the4,000 plus maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps.
AtoZ the USA | log in from home - A database that contains exhaustive resources on every state in the union. It includes not only the standard inventory of state facts, but also more obscure information, such as soil profiles, biographies of past governors, tourist attractions, images of baseball cards and much more.
Auto Repair Reference Center [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home – Automotive repair information for more than 33,000 domestic & imported vehicles, covered from 1945-present. Content includes drawings,step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins & recalls, wiring diagrams, specifications &maintenance schedules.
B
Biography In Context | log in from home - Award-winning biographies of people both current and historic from all fields of endeavor. Content includes images and links to vetted websites.
Books and Authors | log in from home - Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarians’ favorite lists, Books and Authors helps bring readers and literature together.
Boston Globe (1980-present) | log in from home
Boston Globe Historical (1872-1981) [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - For everyone from genealogists to researchers and scholars. Easily-searchable obituaries, first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (Read more about it in our Premium Resources blog).
Business Insights : Essentials | log in from home - A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories and periodicals.
C
Consumer Reports [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home- Thousands of product reviews and ratings updated regularly; valuable buying advice; reliable data and much more.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select | log in from home - Contemporary Literary Criticism–Select is an extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical and critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study.
Credo Reference | Log in from home - Full-text reference eBook content covering every major subject
Critical Insights – Salem Literature [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home On-line access to books edited and written by distinguished literary scholars suitable for students and teachers alike. Critical Insights Works include critical interpretations of such classics as The Canterbury Tales, Death of a Salesman, Grapes of Wrath, and The House on Mango Street (log-in to see the complete list of over 25 titles). Critical Insights Authors include perspective on such authors as Jane Austen, Gabriel García Márquez, Nathaniel Hawthorne,Ernest Hemingway, and Toni Morrison.
E
EBSCOhost Research Databases | log in from home
Educator’s Reference Complete | log in from home - Mainly full-text collection of over 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
Encyclopedia Britannica | log in from home – Explore the updated online encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home – This set covers the full breadth of American immigration history in 525 alphabetically arranged and east-to-understand articles.
Encyclopedia of Associations | log in from home - The only comprehensive source for detailed information on non-profit American membership organizations of national scope.
Expanded Academic ASAP | log in from home- Access articles from scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers – many with full-text and images for research across all academic disciplines.
F
Financial Literacy [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home - a content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online economics and personal finance resource specifically designed for students in grades 7–12. Financial Literacy delivers curriculum-correlated content; promotes digital literacy and 21st-century learning skills; and offers research, report, and homework help.
G
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context | log in from home - Engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues.
Gale Science in Context | log in from home - An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information
on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale Virtual Reference Library | log in from home – Collection of premier reference books including business, education, law, medicine and science, all available electronically.
General Business File ASAP | log in from home – Provides access to articles on company performance and activity, industry events and trends from trade publications, journals, newspapers, brokerage reports and company directory listings.
General OneFile | log in from home - A comprehensive periodical resource that puts more than 60 million articles at your fingertips with a single search query.
General Reference Center Gold - This resource center integrates a vast array of key business and general interest titles to fully answer your reference questions – all in a single database.
Global Issues in Context | log in from home – International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Global Road Warrior | log in from home – A great resource for travelers and students featuring 175 countries.
H
Health and Wellness Resource Center | Log in from home – Instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
Health Reference Center Academic | log in from home- Multi-source database provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information.
HeritageQuest | log in from home – HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. Federal Census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
I
InfoTrac K-12 Junior Edition | log in from home – Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school.
Infobase Ebooks [Plymouth Patrons Only] | log in from home - Infobase eBooks are Web-based versions of Infobase Publishing’s outstanding print reference books. As one of America’s leading providers of educational materials, Infobase offers authoritative, reliable resources supporting the curriculum across a wide range of subject areas. Titles in our collection under the “Multicultural” heading include books on individual Native American Tribes and the Encyclopedia of Native American History. The library also owns print versions of all the books found in this database.
InfoTrac K-12 Student Edition | log in from home – Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high school students.
J
Job and Career Accelerator | log in from home – *QUESTION WITH HOW THIS LINK* Job & Career Accelerator is the industry’s most comprehensive online job search system that puts job seekers on the fast track to getting hired.
K
Kids InfoBits | log in from home- Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface,the popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree.
L
Literature Criticism Online | log in from home - Largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Literature Resource Center | log in from home - *THIS LINK NEEDS TO BE FIXED* Current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works from all genres, time periods, and all regions of the world.
M
Magill’s Medical Guide [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home - This guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments and more in an A-Z format. Designed for laymen and written for healthcare consumers, the Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professional and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
Mango Languages [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home – An online language learning system teaching practical conversations skills for a variety of popular languages. Engaging interactive lessons are not only fun, they are designed to increase your ability to use the language skills you develop. It’s a fast, easy and effective way to learn to speak a foreign language.
Massachusetts History Online | log in from home - Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history.
Morningstar Investment Research Center [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home – Offers accurate, up-to-date data on 35,000 stocks and funds, along with industry and market data.
N
National Geographic [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home – Browse or search the full text archive of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 until 1994. Includes over 200,000 pages of text and photographs providing in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment.
New York Times (1980-present) | log in from home
Novelist [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - NoveList is a database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. Also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-Alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and feature articles.
Nursing Resource Center | log in from home – A comprehensive source that nurses, students, and instructors trust to deliver quality results because it was designed to match the “Nursing Process”.
O
OverDrive Audiobooks and eBooks | log in from home - Downloadable digital audiobooks are available in both WMA (compatible with iPods) and MP3 format. eBooks are offered as Kindlebooks, downloadable to Kindles and Kindle apps, and also in ePub format, compatible with ereaders including the Nook and Sony eReaders. You can also download library books to Ipads, Android tablets, and most “smartphones”. More information about how to download ebooks can be found here.
The Oral History Review [Oxford Journals]-in library only - The U.S. journal of record for the theory and practice of oral history and related fields. The Review publishes narrative and analytical articles and reviews, in print and multimedia formats, that present and use oral history in unique and significant ways and that contribute to the understanding of the nature of oral history and memory.
P
Patriot Ledger [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home (full text 2000-present) - Also click on “Other Newsbank Products” to access magazines including The Atlantic, Newsweek, and Popular Science.
R
Reference USA [Plymouth Patrons only] | log in from home -Directory of over 14 million U.S. businesses and over 100 million U.S.residents.
S
Small Business Resource Center | log in from home - Comprehensive database offering content that covers major
areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources,management, marketing, taxes and more.
Something About the Author Online | log in from home - Provides comprehensive access to the long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
T
Teen Health and Wellness | log in from home - This award winning, critically acclaimed online resource provides
middle school and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular and self-help support. Topics include diseases, drugs, nutrition, bullying and more.
Testing and Education Reference Center | log in from home - From college prep to career planning, this database
offers resources and tools to help you make informed confident decisions. Includes online and eBook test prep materials, scholarship and grant information and a career search module that includes a resume builder, cover letter and interviewing tips and more.
U
U.S. History in Context | log in from home - An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information
on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.
W
World Book Online | log in from home - A premier online reference source with thousands of articles, state-of-the-art multimedia, editor-reviewed websites, periodical content and more.
World Geography [Plymouth patrons only] | log in from home - World Geography develops students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, & cultural forces that influence our world.
World History in Context | log in from home - An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history.
Z
Zinio – Read and download magazines for free by creating a library account with Zinio. Over 100 titles are available to choose from, including sports, entertainment, travel, business, and more. Click here to see a step-by-step guide on how to set up an account.