Critical Insights – On-line access to books edited and written by distinguished literary scholars suitable for students and teachers alike. Critical Insights Works include critical interpretations of such classics as The Canterbury Tales, Death of a Salesman, Grapes of Wrath, and The House on Mango Street (log-in to see the complete list of over 25 titles). Critical Insights Authors include perspective on such authors as Jane Austen, Gabriel García Márquez, Nathaniel Hawthorne,Ernest Hemingway, and Toni Morrison.
Literature Criticism Online – Largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
From picture books on up to young adult, in NoveList K – 8 Plus you can find information on children’s books indexed by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading Levels, Common Core standards, books made into movies, and other categories. Provides reviews in each book’s description from a variety of sources.
Watch this brief tutorial on how to get the most out of using NoveList to find book suggestions!
NoveList Plus – The secret to finding great books! NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations. It is a comprehensive source of information about books (fiction AND non-fiction) that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. Watch this brief tutorial on how to get the most out of using NoveList Plus to find book suggestions!
Over 50 distinct collections including kid-friendly, literary, cultural, health, legal and business databases. Also known as the Gale Group, including numerous areas including Biography in Context, Research in Context, Gale Literary Sources, Kids Info Bits, and much more. Databases can be searched individually, by selection, or across multiple areas by using the “power search option.” Links to the Boston Globe, New York Times, and various editions of the Encyclopedia Brittanica can also be accessed here.