Kanopy Movies

The Kanopy Streaming Video Collection offers what the New York Times calls “a garden of cinematic delights.” Kanopy showcases more than 30,000 titles, including award-winning documentaries and acclaimed films, rare and hard-to-find titles, and classic films, with collections from The Great Courses, Kino Lorber, and PBS among many others.

Users can access Kanopy through a variety of devices and platforms, including Roku, Apple TV, iOS and Android. Kanopy is also compatible for hearing- (with captions and transcripts) and visually-impaired patrons (compatible with technologies such as JAWS).  Wi-Fi access is necessary to view movies, which are available to stream but not to download.  Films that are checked out are available to view for three days with a maximum of 10 checkouts a month.  Visit the Kanopy help page for more information.

To create an account,  follow the link to https://plymouthpl.kanopystreaming.com/ and enter your email address and a password.  You must enter your library card number  in order for your account to be confirmed.

Click here to view a quick tutorial on how to get started with Kanopy at the Plymouth Public Library.

lynda.com

lyndaThe lynda.com online video library offers more than 6,000 courses in Business, Technology and Creative Skills taught by industry experts.  Self-paced training classes on a wide range of computer and project management skills are aimed at beginning, intermediate, and advanced users. Topics offered include: the entire suite of Microsoft and Adobe products, website development, business skills, design skills, audio and video tools, creative inspirations, and much more.  All of the courses are taught by expert instructors and have fully searchable transcripts.  Certificates of completion can be seamlessly uploaded to Linked-In.  Log-in with your Plymouth Public Library card.

Click here to learn more about how to use lynda

PBS Video Collection

PVSTButtonThe PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. Selected for their high quality, available titles cover many subjects, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to selections from programs including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

Transparent Language Online

Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language.

Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 95 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of 26 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with enhanced support for Android ™ tablets and iPads, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

Click here to view a short video tutorial about how to get started using Transparent Language.